My Top 10 List: Books

I have decided to do a mini series of posts, where I will share my ‘Top 10s’ with you all. I think it will be interesting and fun and I’m usually not so good at explaining things, but I’ll try my best. 🙂 Nevertheless, I hope you enjoy it (and seriously, I recommend every single book from here). 🙂

 

tumblr_nh7sb1sCKR1rlt5o0o1_500

(via tumblr)

Maša’s Top 10 Books

Giovanna Fletcher – You’re The One That I Want

Okay, this one is new on my list and it’s actually where I got this ‘Top 10s’ idea from. I kinda have a huge love-hate relationship with this book. I love how Gi talks about love; it’s like she’s reading my mind and putting everything I can’t express into words, if that makes any sense. And I loved that ‘three hand squeezes’ thing, it’s pretty sweet. I think I will use it sometime. But I don’t think I like the ending very much. I like that it’s so unexpected, though. I cried sooo hard; it was heart-breaking, okaaay.

 

J. K. Rowling – ‘Harry Potter’ Book Series

I mean, who doesn’t love Harry Potter (okay, apart from my Mister)? What’s not to love? I also recommend this page, there are some pretty interesting facts about the series!

 

Julie Garwood – The Secret

In third (or was it fourth?) year of high-school I became completely obsessed with Julie Garwood’s books (and I have soon passed my obsession onto my friend, sorry 😀 ). I think I have about 11 of her books at home because I kept buying them which is not quite good considering they are all written in the same way (you’ll know what I mean when you read about three of them). But The Secret has been my favourite of all since I read it (Saving Grace is not far behind, though). It’s really funny, interesting, kinda different from the others, it’s also kinda kinky (okay, every Garwood’s book is kinky, what can you do 😀 ) and I really like it.

 

Fran S. Finžgar – Pod svobodnim soncem

My favourite Slovenian book. I’ve read it in like, second or third year of high-school and it has been my favourite ever since and I don’t really know why. It’s just so good! Hands down, Mr Finžgar, you da best.

 

Nicholas Sparks – The Last Song

Of course there has to be a Nicholas Sparks book somewhere on this list. I am a sucker for romance, what can I do … It was a tough decision and I would normally go with The Notebook, but because I much prefer the movie version to the book (which is very unusual for me), I have decided to go with The Last Song (though, The Longest Ride is also pretty good!). I hate the movie version of this, though; I mean, Miley? Seriously? I could do with Liam, but Miley was a baaad choice for this movie. But the story is so beautiful, heart-breaking and just full of (father-daughter) love. I love love (if you haven’t guessed already). 😀 I know all Spark’s books are kind of the same – one either falls in love with the other or dies. Pretty simple. But this one kind of stood out, I dunno why. I like it very much. Though I hate that I can’t get Miley out of my head everytime I’m reading it (can’t complain about Liam, though, haha).

 

Enid Blyton – ‘The Famous Five’ Book Series

If you haven’t read these books when you were younger (or ever), then I don’t know what’s wrong with you. This collection of books had been my faaaavourite when I was in middle school. I was actually so jealous of my cousins for having the entire collection at home (sorry, haha! 😀 ), but then they lent them to me so it was all good. 😛 They were just so interesting to read and I wanted them aaall. And I’m not saying they’re the best mystery/adventure books you’ll ever read, but back then they were golden!

 

Antoine de Saint-Exupery – The Little Prince

Who doesn’t know the famous ‘It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye’ quote … I got this book on my confirmation day from my favourite aunt and I fell in love with it. It’s written in such a simple way and yet has such a big meaning. And yes, every grown-up should definitely read it. Also, I literally squeal everytime I see something Little Prince related. Oops.

 

Rebecca Skloot – The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks 

One of the best and interesting non-fiction books I have ever read. Who was the woman behind HeLa cells? What did her personal life actually look like? Why did her cells become so important in medicine? She is the reason why medicine has developed so much and people are getting millions of dollars because of her cells, and yet her own family can’t even afford a health insurance. You won’t be able to put it down once you start reading it.

 

Jane Austen – Persuasion

I’m a sucker for classics and Jane Austen is practically a genius. I loved the story, I loved the characters, I loved everything. It’s funny and sweet and sad and awesome. It’s perfection. The movie is also quite good, you should definitely check it out (but not before you read the book, of course 😉 ).

 

Jane Austen – Pride and Prejudice

My favourite book of all time. EVER. I can’t even express how good this book is. I’m completely and utterly in love with Jane Austen books (okay, not so much with Mansfield Park because *spoiler* marrying your cousin is just too weird for me). But I actually love how this one describes this pure, honest, beautiful love between Darcy and Lizzy. Also, I love the fact that there’s no acutal kissing or touching of any kind; they express their love only by their words and I love this so much. The movie version is also not so bad (aaaahh, Mr Darcy), so, yay for that, too. 😉

 

Yes, you guessed it. I mostly read cheesy romance books. Oopsie-daisy. I feel like this post contained so many ‘I love it but I dunno why’ sentences, but it’s true. I like them all very much! 🙂

Which books do you like? Which one would you recommend (to me)? Share your opinions here, I’ll be very happy to read them! 🙂

Have a nice weekend! xx

Leave a comment